The BoatUS Foundation offers free license courses for 35 states in the United States. If you’re one of the lucky few who lives in a state that they offer these classes, take advantage. And even if you don’t live nearby to any of their locations, check out their page on how long it takes to get your boat driving certificate and start planning now so you can be ready by next season. So, how long does it take to get a boating license?
The online course takes approximately 3 hours to complete. Once you pass the test, your “Temporary Card” is immediately available for printing which means that you can enjoy all of those lakeside activities right away. Your “Permanent card” should arrive in 4 weeks or less.
How old do you have to be to get a boating license?
The answer to this question depends on what state you are living in. There is no set age for a boating license. The requirements vary from state to state.
It’s important to know the laws for your area because even though one person may be able to get a boating license at any age, another might have stricter regulations that require them to reach an older age before being considered old enough for their first sailing lesson.
If you’re not sure of the guidelines where you live, contact local authorities or do some research online so that when it comes time to take off with your new boat and sail across open waters, you’ll have all your paperwork ready.
How long does it take to get a boating license in Florida?
If you’ve been waiting to get your Florida boating license, don’t worry. You will be mailed a permanent “Boating Safety Education I.D. Card” within 3-4 weeks by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
How long does it take to get a boating license in Ontario?
If you want a boating license in Ontario, the good news is that it’s easier than ever. You can take an online course and get your boating safety certificate from BOATsmart. Boaters who complete the online course and pass the Transport Canada Boating Safety Test will have their permanent card mailed to them within four weeks of completing this process.
How To Get a Boating License
One of the most common requirements for operating a powerboat, sailboat, or personal watercraft on state waters is having some sort of boating safety and education certificate. This may be called a boating license in your area, but it’s required by law so you should probably get one.
If you’re looking to spend some time out on the water, but are worried that your current boat license is expired or about to expire, then don’t worry. You can take a boating safety certificate course online in most cases and pass an exam at the end of it. However, these courses are not as comprehensive as those for getting an automobile driver’s license.
Ready to hit the open water? It’s important that you know what your state requires before you get out on the water. If your state is one of those requiring a boating education, we can help. We’ve compiled all of the information and resources for getting a license right here.
Boaters, don’t forget these four steps when it comes time to apply for or renew your license – research requirements first, complete an online or in-person course with safety and education components, successfully pass the test at the end of the said course, and finally submit payment after successful completion.
While this may seem like a lot of work upfront (and it kinda does), keep in mind how much fun you’ll have once you’re out there exploring the upper levels of the water.